Arbutus Hotel Killarney Customer Reviews

Send us your feedback, Click Here!

 

Michelle in reception was most helpful and Betty in the breakfast room was great! Location couldn’t be better. I’ll be back next spring, for sure!

Kate

Solo traveller

U.S.A.

7 August 2014

 

Had a 10 week old baby with us. Staff were very accommodating! Offered us kettle to boil water to make baby bottles! Staff unloaded all our luggage from the car and bought it to our room! We were ahead of schedule arriving to killarney, rang the hotel and asked if it was possible to have an early check in. It was no problem! It’s the little things that count!

Julie

Ireland

20 July 2014

 

  • A real treat.

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Beautiful full Irish breakfast. Friendly staff. Old world charm. Within easy walking distance of town. Car park a bit away but able to park in a car park very hear the hotel.

    Helen Linehan. Cork, Dec 2013

  • “Gorgeous, well-run property”

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Large, well-appointed rooms that are spotlessly clean and generously stocked with amenities. The staff is welcoming and helpful with advice on things to see and do in the area. The breakfasts are delicious, ample and varied. This centrally located hotel is filled with antiques and offers a very relaxed, comfortable atmosphere to its guests.

     

    Edward O
    Raleigh, North Carolina
  • I warmly recommend the Arbutus Hotel to you!

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    I travel a good deal in my work and stay in hotels all over Ireland. All to often the hotel-experience is a tiring one; warm welcomes promised but not delivered, indifferent food in indifferent surroundings and served with indifference. Even when I have to travel a little bit further to stay with the Arbutus I do because I find they go a lot further to make you welcome. I love the house itself; walking into the lobby feels like a homecoming. The hotel is great but it is also a great place to explore the town from. When you’ve been on the road all day it’s great to get out and stretch your legs and I always get recommendations from the front-desk that are bang-on. I stayed a few weeks ago and the usual warm welcome from everyone there. The rooms were great, the food was fantastic and breakfast continues to be a real highlight, real food served by real people, who care. I can confidently recommend the Arbutus Hotel to you and am sure you’ll thank me for it. It is great to see that which we Irish were famed for so long can still be found in hotels such as the Arbutus … a family run hotel with a genuine family feel to it. Irish and proud of it !
    Gerard T. June 2013

  • Amazing Experience

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    I stepped in the front door of the Arbutus Hotel and I felt like I was stepping into another world – a world of wonder.. It immediately felt right and I knew that my sister and I had made the right choice for our weekend away… We were greeted in a way (by Michelle) that made us feel like we were the most important people in the world and that standard never dropped for one minute throughout our stay. We loved the room, and the beautiful old world feel of the hotel, with the most unique and tasty pieces of antique furniture throughout. The breakfast was something special – kept us going all day! Every mouthful was just top class, especially those little scones! Then when you stepped outside, you were right in the middle of the buzz and joy that is Killarney Town… All the staff were wonderful – kind, helpful and warm. I am going back again in May with some friends and really look forward to it! I would recommend the Arbutus to anyone who takes their weekends away very seriously! :-) Mary TT, 5 May 2013

  • We had a very nice stay

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    We would say everything was excellent good friendly
    staff from reception to housekeeping. We like the old world charm and feel of the hotel. Just keep up the modernizing but not to much ok. Pat and Gaye, 11th March 2013

  • Home from Home

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    The hospitality is old world charm combined with touches of excellence. The breakfast we received was second to none with a great variety to choose from.
    This hotel is really in an excellent location in the town and was very comfortable.
    My wife and I really enjoyed our stay there. Dermot & Maureen, Dublin, December 2012

  • Great Hotel

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Just returned from a two night stay in the Arbutus Hotel with my mother. We really enjoyed our stay. All of the staff we met were so helpful and friendly especially the two ladies in reception when we first arrived. Breakfast was great, with lots of choice and cooked fresh there and then and breakfast staff were great really friendly and helpful also.The bar was also great definitely worth a visit. The hotel itself is lovely and very well maintained, and we were very happy with our twin room it was ideal, and in a great location and great value for money .An added bonus is their free car park just up the street.I would have no hesitation in recommending the Arbutus to anyone visiting Killarney. I’m looking forward to returning again soon. Sharon, 28 June 2012

  • My Favourite Hotel in Killarney

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    We stay in Kilarney quite regulary & always use the Arbutus, it is quite simply the best hotel in the town, it is full of old world charm but with top class service & staff. The location is great & everyone there is friendly & helpful. Zelemon, 26 June 2012, Couple

  • Just Perfect

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    As before our stay at the Arbutus was excellent. Friendly welcoming staff. Great atmosphere, Great food and right in the center of Killarney. Can’t ask for more than that. It will be our first choice of hotel accomodation from now on in Killarney. Thanks to all the staff there!! Kieran O, 12 June 2012, Couple 

  • What a wonderful hotel

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    My partner and I stayed at the Arbutus late June into Early July 2011. We could not have been happier with the quality and service provided at the arbutus by it’s staff and owners. The rooms are fastidiously maintained and exceptionally clean and the breakfasts and meals are first class. It is within walking distance to most attractions and has it’s own parking. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this fine hotel and all it has to offer.
    J Stowe Sydney Australia

    4 July 2011 / Trip Type: Couple

  • A first rate birthday experience

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Happiness exudes from all those that look after you at this peaceful hotel! It began with a very prompt email response from Michelle, when I enquired about parking. We were immediately treated to coffee, scones and ginger bread in the lounge on our arrival, as we had driven from Kerry Airport at a very early hour (Due to a certain air carrier’s interesting timetable out of London!).

    Our room was made available by 11am and was a wonder to behold, as if from an earlier time. A king size double bed filled one half of the suite, and through an arch we were amazed to find a chaise lounge, two arm chairs with table and also a writing table and chair. All this beautiful antique furniture was finished in an opulent golden fabric to compliment the ruby red carpet. The large bathroom contained a walk-in shower cubical in addition to the bath – all this was most unexpected for the modest price for bed and breakfast – four nights to celebrate my wife’s birthday.
    I would like to compliment Betty for her kind attention at breakfast each morning as she greeted us from room 229 and presented us with a wonderful range of food in the restaurant – the antidote to the previous evening’s Guinness!
    We were recommended to visit the Arbutus Hotel by our son, who is well traveled on business and we were not disappointed – nor will you be, to be sure.

    25 June 2011 / Trip Type: Couple

  • Great Hotel and great experience

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    This hotel was great. Awesome location, very clean and awesome atmosphere. In addition everyone was extremely friendly and the service was outstanding. Definitely a good place to stay.

    23 June 2011/ / Trip Type: Family

  • Great place to spend time in Ireland

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    We spent three nights at the Arbutus as part of a family trip to Ireland. The hotel is a family-owned property located in the very convenient center of Killarney Town within walking distance to the train and bus stations.

    The rooms are clean and spacious. We had a lovely family room with a double bed and two single beds in a separate alcove.

    The staff are superb. They provided us with lots of information on activities in Killarney and also were very responsive to special requests such as finding a place on their property to store a bike overnight.

    The included breakfast was delicious. It consisted of a continental buffet with freshly baked scones and gingerbread and an extensive cooked to order menu. We were even able to get an early breakfast on our last day so we could catch an early train.

    We would highly recommend the Arbutus.

    19 June 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • If we ever get back to Killarney we’ll definately stay there again!

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Super breakfast, perfect location, convenient to everything. Extreemly helpful and pleasant staff – especially Betty! The Arbutus gleamed! In other words from front of house to cleaning service was top notch.

    19 June 2011 / Trip Type: Couple

  • Lovely old-fashioned family run hotel

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    A well presented, traditional hotel in the centre of Killarney. Amazing breakfast, including home made scones, bread and ginger cake. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and were able to advise us on some good walks in the area. They even packed us some ginger cake for our lunch! Rooms could do with a little updating, but are very comfortable and have all the necessary facilities. Would come back here again.

    18 June 2011 / Trip Type: Couple

  • We have been many times and will be back

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Just had a great weekend staying at the Arbutus Hotel we just love the homely atmosphere, and the genuine welcome we get from all the staff. The hotel now have free car parking which is very convenient. The rooms are very comfortable, the food is brillant and the Buckley bar has a great music session. All menbers of staff are very friendly and helpful.

    14 June 2011 / Trip Type: Couple

  • A Warm Homely Hotel

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    The Arbutus was a joy to have a weekebnd break in. From the minute we checked into our check out we were made feel most welcome by the helpful and charming staff. The decor was beautiful and created a warm and friendly atomsphere which more modern type hotels sadly lack. The food, rooms, service were all top class. The bar on Saturday night provided a brilliant local traditional music session with loads of musicians and singers. This hotel has got soul and we would not dream of staying anywhere else on our return to Killarney.

    14 June 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • Fantastic hotel and promised Betty I would do this review today – so here goes!!!

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Just returned from a fantastic trip to Killarney and from the wonderful Arbutus Hotel where we could not have been made feel more welcome, from the delightful Laura on reception who hauled coffee to our room because I wanted to keep my dad company, to 3 delightful mornings savouring the beautiful breakfasts served by the ever helpful, ever cheerful Betty and all the great staff who complemented the great service provided by this more than 4 star hotel – everybody diligently provided the most fabulous service to make our three day stay a memorable one!! The hotel is a wondefull blend of old world charm and efficient service. The hotel itself is a period monument to times gone by when you could stay in a beautiful surround, with all of the comforts of home – we felt that we had been transported to days when hotels really offered the type of service that you do not see in modern day Ireland. Food was superb and service was unsurpassed. Thank you everyone for a really great experience. If we are staying in Killarney again we will always stay here. Situated in the centre of the town, everything is within walking distance, car parking is free and we could not recommend this lovely hotel highly enough. Thank you for a great experience and I hope you get the trip advisor rating you deserve – in our opinion – No 1 !!!!! Regards, Yvonne Mullaney , Galway City – PS check out the hand-baked sublime butter-based scones – best on earth!!!

    13 June 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • In town location … worth a stay

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    The Arbutus is a hotel from another era … elegant, warm and solid. The warm ‘sit-down-and-let-me-get-you-a- cup-of-tea-with-brown-bread-and butter’ welcome demonstrates the elegance of another age set in this small and older in-town hotel. Certain positioniong of the foot as you walk the staircase brings out a creak oof the solid wood in the construction. The real find Buckley’s bar off the lobby … especailly when the Irish music is playing. The loaction can’t be beat either … right in the center of town where there is still personality. Away from the tour bus hotels and traffic crowded areas. And leave your key at the front desk when you leave at night … a throw back to another era for sure.

    13 June 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • Pretty Good Hotel

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    The hotel is situated in the downtown are a lot of cute shops/restaurants within walking distance. Free Parking (but about 3 blocks away from the hotel). No wifi in the room we stayed -so had to come to the lobby to access. Friendly receptionists. The basic breakfast (included in our rate) was pretty good. The room was very spacious. The bathroom was old but clean. It was a bit noisy as our room faced the bar parking lot. Overall good value. Could bring up Bailey’s coffee from downstairs bar to our room. :)

    11 June 2011// Trip Type: Family

  • very centeral and staff were excellent

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    A beautiful family run hotel in the hearth of killarney free wi fi, complimentry tea or coffee on arrival,home made scones which were fabilous..rooms were very spacious and well equiped. will be back again

    10 June 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • The perfect headquarters for a Killarney vacation.

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    The combination of customer service from Shawn and Betty, the super comfortable rooms, the adjacent Buckley Pub and the central location in Killarney made this the perfect spot for our visit. We had originally planned to stay three days but stayed five because we were having so much fun. Shawn offered truly valuable touring advice and everything you need is within easy walking distance. Convenience store is right across the street, great salon is one block away (cut & color!), the guys rented some bikes about a block away to tour the Irish National Park, we had a nice, easy walk to Ross Castle, and the Killarney Riding Stable will pick you up right at the front door. Just perfect!

    9 June 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • A great, great boutique hotel

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Great accomodations and service. This hotel is conveniently situated, and the service and furnishings are first rate. The Irish breakfast is the best we had in Ireland. Highly recommend!

    8 June 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • friendly and comfortable

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    This is an excellent hotel, with very friendly atmosphere. The staff are so attentive especially Betty, who made us feel at home. Food, was very good and was served at the table. The owner Sean was available to answer any queries. We had a most enjoyable stay.

    6 June 2011 / Trip Type: Couple

  • Old world charm

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    We stayed at the Arbutus for 2 nights and were impressed with the original Victorian styling that has been meticulously maintained & updated. We were welcomed with tea & scones and the attention to detail by the staff was maintained throughout our stay. A really nice experience!

    5 June 2011 / Trip Type: Couple

  • Location and great atmosphere – wonderful

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    My husband and I had a very satisfying stay at the family run Arbutus Hotel in Killarney, Ireland. The staff is wonderful, friendly, and caring. Breakfast is great – the best scones we had in all of Ireland. Each room is uniguely furnished and very comfortable. The location is perfect – nearby the bus and train station if arriving without a car. Local transportation and tours, as well as nearby amenities, make a car totally unnecessary. Take the Dingle tour. And enjoy local musicians as well as the food at nearby Murphy’s pub.

    4 June 2011 / Trip Type: Couple

  • A wonderful and memorable experience.

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    The Arbutyus is a wonderful historic hotel. It is very gentile and the family that owns the hotel is very kind and warm. The staff is excellent, especially Betty, who is the waitress and hostess in the Dining Room. Her warm Irish personality made our 2 night stay even more enjoyable. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends. Jenny, Walt and Jerry.

    3 June 2011

  • Terrific Hotel

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    A very nice hotel in the heart of Killarney and close to shopping, restaurants, and fun pubs. The outside of the building neeeds some updating but the inside is very refined and pleasant. The full Irish breakfasts were the best we experienced during our two week trip. I would highly recommend staying there.

    2 June 2011 / Trip Type: Friends

  • Wonderful Service

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    We had a wonderful stay at the Arbutus doing our two night stay in Killarney. The location is great: in the center of town with lots of restaurant options close by. On the morning we were venturing out on a drive around the ring of Kerry, we asked the desk clerk for assistance in navigating our way out of town. He suggested that we veer off the ring for a visit to the Valencia Islands, explaining the best ways to get on the island (ferry) and off the island (bridge). This detour, turned out to be our favorite part of the trip! When we arrived in London, our next destination, we realized that we had left a scarf behind in our Arbutus hotel room. We email the hotel to ask if they found the scarf and, if so, could they return it to us at our expense. They had fndeed found the scarf and offered to send it to us at their expense which they promptly did. We received it just three days later!

    30 May 2011 / Trip Type: Couple

  • Great Hotel with Friendly Service and Excellent Facilities!

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Great location, many pubs and shops within walking distance. Excellent breakfast and friendly staff as well. Room was clean and comfortable. Highly Recommended!

    29 May 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • Charming famiy run hotel

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Lovely hotel in a superb location. Many thanks to the friendly staff who were helpful and welcoming, including helping to mind our 3-year old son!

    28 May 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • The best hotel in Killarney

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    We had the loveliest stay at the arbutus. A beautiful hotel itself, the arbutus is a minute’s walk to all the best shops and pubs in Killarney. The staff is quite warm and could not be more helpful to the guests. One morning I slept in past breakfast (one too many Guinness next-door at Murphy’s – fantastic place to see authentic live pub music btw) and the staff was so kind to make me a breakfast plate, wrap it and save it for when I awoke. The bar in the lobby has a lovely hearth and there was always a fellow companion to have a pint with. The rooms were quite clean and the beds were as comfy as could be. Even with the location on the street there was no noise at all from the road. If you are looking for a quiet clean and homely place to rest your head as you travel the Irish countryside, the Arbutus is certainly your best choice.

    27 May 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • What a wonderful stay we had at the Arbutus Hotel

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    My three friends and I went for a once in a lifetime golf trip to ireland. We decided to stay in Killarny and not have to move every day to a new hotel. Wow we were happy that we stayed at the Arbutus. No staff at any hotel could have been nicer. We stayed for four nights. The rooms were great, very clean and comfortable. We of course had a great Irish breakfast each day. We always came back from golf and had a pint in Buckleys Pub in the hotel. Every request we had for service such as laundry or recommendations for dinner or to listen to irish music was fulfilled. On the last day we had to leave early and the staff so to it that we had a hot meal before we left. Betty O’Conner went out of her way to help us, feed us and make sure that we had everything we needed. Tadhg and Tomas in the bar were the best and Michelle and Joan at the front desk were quick, efficient and made you proud to be of irish descent. I would love to bring my family back here in the future.

    25 May 2011 / Trip Type: Friends

  • A Respite from Today’s World

    5 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    If you are looking for the style, ambiance and courtesy of days gone by the Arbutus is just the place for you. The large rooms(by European standards) are furnished in lovely antiques with comfy beds and very well equipped bathrooms outfitted with plenty of space for your toiletries. The two lounges are wonderful places to relax in the evening and engage in interesting conversations with other guests. The staff could not do enough for their guests–no request was ignored and service was truly given with a smile. One feels part of the family while there. The Arbutus is a lovely, small hotel operated for the sole purpose of pleasing its guests! Thank you Sean and all for a wonderful Irish experience!

    19 May 2011 / Trip Type: Couple

  • Our stay at the arbutus

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the arbutus hotel,very warm welcoming from reception even though the weather was bad,the rooms were very clean and well maintained, the food was lovley and was served with a warm smile from our waitress betty we will be definatly be returning the scanlan family.

    18 May 2011 / Trip Type: Family

  • Classy, genuine family run, comfortable, clean and good value

    4 Star Review

    Client Rating:

    Based ourseves here for day climbw/hike thru the Reeks and the Ring. The Arbutus is really handy to train or bus. Large car park to rear. Super breakfast each morning, espeically the porrige. Don’t miss it. Extremely friendly staff. Hints and tips galore on findin our way around the Reeks climbs up Irelands largest Mountains.

    5 May 2011 / Trip Type: Family